Ohio State Navbar


1998 Latiolais Award Recipient


Susan Tiel Boyer

The Clifton J. Latiolais Award, which is named in the honor of Dr. Latiolais, is presented annually to a graduate of a program participating in the Residency in Hospital Pharmacy/Master of Science program at the Ohio State University or an individual intimately involved with the development of the programs. The Award is given to an individual of high professional ideals, who has made significant contributions to institutional pharmacy practice. These contributions may include achievements or outstanding performance in institutional pharmacy practice, education, administration and/or research. The individual will have demonstrated throughout his/her career the philosophical perspectives, personal commitment and enthusiasm for excellence which Dr. Latiolais sought to develop in his residents

The Selection Committee has the honor of presenting the 1998 Clifton J. Latiolais Award to Susan Teil Boyer, M.S., FASHP, Director of Pharmacy and IV Therapy, MultiCare Health System, Tacoma, Washington. Susan received her Bachelor's degree in Pharmacy from the University of Washington in Seattle in 1972 and completed her Master's degree in Hospital Pharmacy at The Ohio State University where she also completed here two year residency in Clinical Hospital Pharmacy at The Ohio State University Hospitals, in Columbus Ohio. She is also a past graduate of the Wharton Executive Management Program for Hospital Pharmacy Directors at the University of Pennsylvania's Wharton Business School. For the past seventeen years, Susan has provided leadership to students and practicing pharmacists in the states of Colorado, Texas, and Washington. Upon graduating from Ohio State University following the completion of her two year residency of The Ohio State University Hospitals, Susan accepted a position as Assistant Director of Pharmacy at St. Luke's Hospital, a division of Presbyterian/St Luke's Medical Center in Denver, Colorado. She also served as clinical instructor for the University of Colorado, School of Pharmacy. Two years later she was promoted to Director of Pharmacy and IV Therapy at Presbyterian Denver Hospital where she practiced until 1985. At that time she relocated to Dallas, Texas and accepted a new position as Branch Manager for HMSS, Inc. (Home Medical Support Services). A year later she was appointed to a new role as Assistant Director of Pharmacy Services at Parkland Memorial Hospital in Dallas, Texas.

In 1986, upon relocating to the State of Washington, she accepted her second directorship as Director of Pharmacy and IV Therapy at Multicare Health System in Tacoma, Washington where she has spent the last 12 years as Director and as an Affliate Assistant Professor for University of Washington School of Pharmacy. Most recently, Susan was promoted to the highest level Pharmacy position at MultiCare Health System, MHS.Director of Pharmacy, the first person to hold this position or the Health System. She is responsible for three hospitals, six outpatient pharmacies and home infusion service, IV Therapy team, drug information center, and support for the MultiCare Physicians Group and a pharmacist managed anti-coagulation service.Upon leaving the residency, Susan has upholded Clif's expectation for providing leaderhip to the profession. She has served on the Board of Directors for the Colorado Society of Hospital Pharmacists and most recently on the Washington State Society of Health-System Pharmacists for which she is now proudly serving as the President. In 1992, Susan was bestowed the WSHP Pharmacist Leadership Award for her contributions to the advancement of pharmacy practice and the development of pharmacists in the State of Washington.At the national level Susan has provided leadership as the Chairman of the Administrative SIG Working Group of the ASHP in 1983, and as member and then Chairperson of the ASHP Council on Administrative Affairs from 1982 to 1984. From 1989 to 1993 she honorably served as a Board member on the Board of Director of the American Society of HealthSystem Pharmacists. Her past accomplishments were duly recognized in 1996 when she was inducted as a Fellow of the the American Society of HealthSystem Pharmacists. Her enthusiasm to promote high quality pharmacy services is also reflected in her contributions as editorial board member of Pharmacy Practice Management Quarterly, and member of the VHA National Advisory Board.Susan's leadership while at MultiCare Medical Center did not go unnoticed as she was appointed Hospital Coodinator, Patient Focused Work Design/Restructuring from 1992 to 1993. Her work in this area resulted in her developing expertise in the area of process redesign which she willingly shared with a variety of audiences, presenting at state society meetings on the topic and publishing on the subjectin Topics in Hospital Pharmacy Management where she served as the issue editor.In her current position,. She has been an active participant in numerous hospital committees including serving as the pharmacy representative for MultiCare Health System and as the JCAHO Sterring Committee member. For many years, Susan has served as a genuine leadership and mentor to many students, clinical practitioners and managers who have learned from and benefited from her endless energy and devotion to the advancement of pharmacy practice.

According to W. Richard Stubbs, MD, MBA,CPE, Chief Medical Offcer, MultiCare Health System, and quote; Susan joined MultiCare in 1986 and has had a record of truly outstanding achievement. Susan has been a champion for Pharmacy Services and the profession of Pharmacy. Susan promotes the role of Pharmacy throughout our system. She is constantly reminding physicians, nurses and other health care providers what pharmacists can contribute to the care of patients....Yes, we were indeed honored and proud to learn that Susan was the recipient of this year's award. Susan is a true professional in every sense of the work.".It is with great honor that the Clifton J. Latiolais Award Selection Committee recognizes Susan Teil Boyer for her contributions and dedication to Pharmacy Practice and the values that were both characteristic and important to Clif Latiolais. Please join us in congratulating Susan on this significant and rewarding achievement.