Ohio State Navbar


1999 Latiolais Award Recipient


William H. Puckett

The Clifton J. Latiolais Award, which is named in the honor of Dr. Latiolais, is presented annually to a graduate of a program participating in the Residency in Hospital Pharmacy/Master of Science Program at the Ohio State University or an individual intimately involved with the development of the programs. The Award is given to an individual of high professional ideals, who has made significant contributions to institutional pharmacy practice. These contributions may include achievements or outstanding performance in institutional pharmacy practice, education, administration and/or research. The individual will have demonstrated throughout his/her career the philosophical perspectives, personal commitment and enthusiasm for excellence which Dr. Latiolais sought to develop in his residents. The Selection Committee has the honor of presenting the 1999 Clifton J. Latiolais Award to William H. Puckett, MS, MBA, FASHP, Administrative Director, Pharrnacy and Patient Care Supply, St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital, Houston, Texas.

William H. Puckett, MS, MBA, FASHP is the Administrative Director, Pharmacy and Patient Care Supply, St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital, Houston. St. Luke's is a 600-bed community, tertiary-care, teaching hospital located on the campus of the Texas Medical Center. It is home to the Texas Heart Institute, so about half its patients at any time are cardiovascular related. All other medical disciplines are represented except pediatrics (the Texas Children's Hospital is next door). Bill's pharmacy consists of 120 FTE's, 65 of which are pharmacists. The pharmacy practice model, which Bill implemented in 1988, is an integrated decentralized model that he calls PCAP, for Patient Care Area Pharmacist. Bill also has administrative responsibilities for the Patient Care Supply department of the hospital, and is currently working on a project to consolidate the two departments into one location, using automated shelving systems for distribution support. He chairs the institution's medication safety team, and participates in many institutional and medical staff committees.

Bill re-established the pharmacy residency program when he came to St. Luke's in 1986. He currently has fourteen graduates of the pharmacy practice residency and two from the critical care specialty residency. His department is a rotation site for three colleges of pharmacy in Texas, and Bill is a frequent guest lecturer. Prior to St. Luke's, Bill was the associate director of pharmacy at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston for five years. Before coming to Houston, Bill was the director of pharmacy at University Hospital and Clinics in Oklahoma City. This was his first job after leaving Columbus, where he had been assistant director of pharmacy at Grant Hospital for five years. Between graduation from the Master's/Residency program and Grant, Bill served two years in the Army as a pharmacy officer in Texas New Mexico, and California. Bill has always enjoyed teaching and precepting, and has held academic appointments and precepted residents at each of his positions.

Bill is currently the president-elect of the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists, and will take over the helm of TSHP in April. Obviously a professional organization kind of guy, Bill has held presidential and other offices in the Gulf Coast Society, Oklahoma Society. Ohio Society, and Central Ohio Society. With ASHP Bill is currently Chair of the Nominations Committee, and has just cycled off the Commission on Credentialing. He particularly enjoys being a residency surveyor, but had to take time off from that to be TSHP president. He also has served as member and chair of the Council on Legal and Public Affairs, a SIG chair, and on various advisory committees with ASHP. Bill has been a delegate to the ASHP House of Delegates for the past five years, serving the past two years as chair of the delegation. In 1995 he was named a Fellow in ASHP. And, if that wasn't enough, he has served as a member and chair of the pharmacy advisory committee for the Premier Health Alliance (now Premier, Inc.).

Two of the awards that Bill is most proud of are the same award. He is a two-time recipient of the ASHP Research Award, in 1972 with Jim Visconti and in 1982 with Roger Anderson. He has also received awards as Pharmacist of the Year from the Gulf Coast Society in 1991, and the Innovative and Collaborative Practice Award in 1994 and the Pharmacy Manager Award in 1996 from TSHP. The TSHP Research and Education Foundation awarded Bill its Research Excellence Award in 1991. The Oklahoma Society has bestowed life membership on Bill, and he is the recipient of the President's Service Award and the Management Leadership Award from St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital. Bill lives in Pearland, Texas, just south of Houston, with Jan, his wife of 31 years. Their older son, Chris, lives with his wife Melissa in Hurst, Texas, outside of Ft. Worth. They are expecting Bill's first granddaughter on January 2nd. Their younger son, Brian, has recently finished his Pharm.D. at the University of Texas, a pharmacy practice residency at Northwestern Memorial Hospital in Chicago, and is currently pursuing a cardiology fellowship at the University of Florida. Brian is engaged to another pharmacist, Julie, and they plan to be married next May. During younger days with the boys, Bill was active as a soccer coach, club officer, and referee. The latter was an enlightening experience in personnel management! Bill is currently into Jimmy Buffett, Michael Martin Murphey, southwest Indian art, railroading, and Walt Disney. If Bill ever retires, it will likely be to Walt Disney World, hopefully to drive the train around the Magic Kingdom

It is with great honor that the Clifton J. Latiolais Award Selection Committee recognizes William H. Puckett for his contributions and dedication to Pharmacy Practice and the values that were both characteristic and important to Cliff Latiolais. Please join us in congratulating Bill on this significant and rewarding achievement.

| Transcript of Acceptance Remarks |