Ohio State Navbar


2011 Latiolais Award Recipient


Richard F. Demers

Richard Demers, M.S., R.Ph., FASHP is currently Assistant Executive Hospital Director at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania (HUP). In this role, he serves as the Director of Pharmacy Services and provides Pharmacy Services for HUP and the Clinical Practices of the University of Pennsylvania (CPUP). He received his Bachelor of Science degree in Pharmacy from Northeastern University, and his Masters of Science degree in Hospital Pharmacy from The Ohio State University. He then went on to complete a Residency in Hospital Pharmacy practice at the Ohio State University Hospital. After completing his postgraduate training, Rick became the Assistant Director of Pharmacy at OSUH, and served in this capacity for three years. He then went on to become The Director of Pharmacy at Exeter Hospital in Exeter, New Hampshire.

In 1991, he moved to Philadelphia to become the Associate Director of Pharmacy Services at HUP, and in 1996 he became Director of Pharmacy Services. During the 1990's the Department initiated a fundamental practice model change in the hospital to one where Pharmacists provided their services on the patient care units instead of the traditional centralized Pharmacy. As a result of many of the outcomes of this model, The Pharmacy Department was awarded the Pinnacle Award from the American Pharmaceutical Association and the Health Care Quality Alliance in 1999.

In 2000, Rick was recognized as a Fellow of the American Society of Health System Pharmacists. He has served on the Board of Directors, and as President of the Pennsylvania Society of Health System Pharmacists (2008). He received the Jonathan Roberts Lecture Award from the Delaware Valley Society of Health System Pharmacists in 2009, and the Sister Gonzales Lecture Award from PSHP in 2010. In addition he received the Pharmacist of the Year Award from PSHP in 2011.

Rick is currently Chair of the Medication Management Workgroup of the PAVE initiative sponsored by the HealthCare Improvement Foundation. In addition, he is Co-Chair of the Transitions of Care Workgroup, a collaborative between PPA & PSHP. He is a member of the PPA Academy of Health System Pharmacists, and a Board member of the Board of Visitors for the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy.

| Transcript of Acceptance Remarks |